39th T A Pai Memorial Lecture on Founder’s Day conducted by TAPMI, MAHE


Manipal, January, 2022.

T A Pai Management Institute (TAPMI), a constituent unit of the Manipal Academy of Higher Education (MAHE) celebrated the Founder’s Day and conducted the 39th T A Pai Memorial Lecture. This is a momentous year as TAPMI is celebrating the Centenary Year of the founder, Late Shri. Tonse Ananth Pai, Padma Bhusan Awardee. Executive Director – Management Studies and Director, TAPMI Dr. Madhu Veeraraghavan welcomed the gathering.Key members of the founding family Smt. VasanthiPai - Trustee, MAHE Trust,Shri. U Ashok Pai, Sri Sathish Pai along with Dr H S Ballal, Pro-Chancellor, MAHE and Lt Gen (Dr.) MD Venkatesh, Vice-Chancellor, were present to commemorate the occasion.

A special cover was released on the occasion by Smt. Sharda Sampath Chief Postmaster General, Karnataka Circle who presented the same to Shri. U Satish Pai, Executive Chairman, Manipal Media Network Ltd. Late Shri. T A Pai’s nephew Dr Laxman G Prabhu fondly remembered his uncle and highlighted the many qualities that made him an inspiring figure. Dr. H S Ballal, Pro- Chancellor, MAHE highlighted the contributions of Shri. T A Pai in laying the foundation for the creation of modern Manipal.Lt. Gen. (Dr.) M. D. Venkatesh, Vice-Chancellor, MAHE offered his felicitations on this momentous occasion. Dr ViswanathanIyer Dean (Academics) at TAPMI moderated the event as the Master of Ceremony.

Dr. Harish Hande, Founder & Chairman - SELCO - Solar Light Pvt Ltd, was the Chief Guest for the event.  A renowned social entrepreneur Dr. Harish Hande highlighted the societal role that management institutes like TAPMI must play, drawing inspiration from the life and work of Shri. T A Pai.  Guest of Honor, Dr. L H Manjunath, Executive Director, Shri Kshethra Dharmasthala Rural Development Project, spoke about his strong association with Shri. T A Pai as an employee of the Canara Milk Union and his enormous contribution to the region.

An award ceremony was held at the event to recognize long service employees of the institute. Professor Sulagna Mukherjee, Professor Animesh Bahadur, and Ms. Sudha B were felicitated for completing 10 years; Mr Narayan was felicitated for completing 30 years in the organization. The awards were presented by Dr. H S Ballal, Pro- Chancellor MAHE.

The event closed with Prof. S Sudhindra (Associate Dean – Academics) offeringa vote of thanks.